Welcome to the hoopla Book Club Hub

hoopla Book Club Hub, BC-SplashImage-700x-ppl.jpg
  • Quarterly Picks & Resources
    Each quarter, we release a new Spotlight Selection title, along with materials including a discussion guide and exclusive author interview to help you get the most out of your book club. We also curate an additional eight recommended titles to meet the diverse interests of any group. Your next great book club pick is here!
  • No Holds. No Waiting. No Kidding!
    With every Book Club title available on hoopla instantly, with no holds, no waiting, and no late fees, book clubs of all sizes will love being able to access their title on hoopla all at the same time. Everyone can start reading or listening right away, simultaneously, with their choice of eBook or audiobook!
  • Join the Conversation
    Whether you’re in a book club with friends, you’re a librarian orchestrating a large event, or you’re reading along independently, the Book Club Hub has something for you. Follow us @hoopladigital and let us know what you think using #hooplabookclub and #discoverreadshare.

Winter 2022 Spotlight Selection

The Girls in the Stilt House preview image

The Girls in the Stilt House

Author: Read by: Johanna Parker Genre: Women's Fiction, Historical Fiction Publisher: Sourcebooks Release Year: 2021 Length: 384 pages / 9h 56m

Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder-perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don't Rise.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

"Remarkable debut….[a] nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance and redemption."

Publisher's Weekly, starred review

"A brilliantly researched, atmospheric page-turner."

Kate Moore | New York Times bestselling author of The Woman They Could Not Silence

hoopla Book Club Author Event

In Conversation with Sarah Penner

hoopla sat down with Sarah Penner, the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Apothecary, to discuss the success of her debut novel, her inspiration behind the book, what's next, and much more!

Check out the audio recording of the event here!

Share the Love

#hooplabookclub & Read With Us!

We want to know what the buzz in your book club is all about. Tag #hooplabookclub to share what you're loving about our Spotlight title and additional picks.

While you're at it? Follow @hoopladigital on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram too!